Download Windows 10 RS1 as a Windows Insider


Introduction

Windows 10 RS1 is out for Windows Insiders on the Fast Track.

14395.5a

Note the absence of the watermark and the Windows Edition is now Windows 10 Pro and not Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview.

Windows 10 is boasted to be the last major release or version of Windows. It is promised to be a continuous stream of updates, fixes and enhancements. With the new continuous distribution of Windows 10 continuous testing is required and Microsoft are valuing the feedback from their enthusiasts i.e. those in the Windows Insiders program. You may opt to remain on the:

  • Fast track (quick releases possibility of being very unstable) – Tier 2 Tester*
  • Slow track (more stable releases but less frequent) – Tier 1 Tester
  • Mainstream track (stable tested releases only) – General Consumer

* Requires use of a Microsoft Account if Upgrading via Windows Update but not if Clean Installing direct from .iso.

Determine your Edition of Windows and if you have a UEFI BIOS

Press [Windows] and [ r ] to bring up the run command:

msinfo32

In the run box type in

msinfo32

Then press ok.

vlcsnap-2016-07-28-12h37m08s491

OS Name

Take a note of the OS Name. This will tell you what Edition of Windows 10 Insider Preview to Download. If you are running Windows 7 or Windows 8.x see the Windows 10 TH2 Upgrade Table to determine the correct Edition.

SMBIOS Version

Take a note of the SMBIOS revision…

  • If it is 2.7 or greater you should have a UEFI BIOS with SecureBoot.
  • If it is 2.6 you might have an Early UEFI System (UEFI without SecureBoot) or only a Legacy BIOS. You will need to check your BIOS Setup*.
  • If it is 2.5 you will have a Legacy BIOS.
  • If it is 2.4 you will have a Legacy BIOS and the processor should be checked for 64 Bit compatibility.*
  • If it has an SMBIOS of 2.3 or less its below minimum system requirements for Windows 10.

For Intel processors e.g. the G640 as shown, Google search Intel Ark G640. If the instruction set is 64 Bit you are all set to run Windows 10 64 Bit.

BIOS Version

You have the System Manufacturer, System Model and BIOS Version/Date. You should compare this with the version offered by your Computer Manufacturer e.g. Dell, HP and Lenovo. See additional notes on Updating your UEFI BIOS and optimising the UEFI BIOS for Windows 10. Note if this is your sole computer do not save changes to your UEFI BIOS settings until you have finished making the Bootable USB.

Boot Mode and Secure Boot State

For systems with Windows 8 or Later installed you will have BIOS Mode and SecureBoot State shown. These technologies should be enabled where supported by the hardware. This information doesn’t show if you are currently running Windows 7. For a Windows 7 install in all cases SecureBoot will be disabled and the UEFI Boot may also be disabled. Again see additional notes on Updating your UEFI BIOS and optimising the UEFI BIOS for Windows 10. Note if this is your sole computer do not save changes to your UEFI BIOS settings until you have finished making the Bootable USB.

Downloading the Windows 10 Insider 14372 RS1 .iso

The Windows 14372 .iso is available to Download from Microsoft here:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windowsinsiderpreviewiso

Downloading from Techbench is simple:

Download Windows 10 Insider 14378A

The only thing to note regards Edition:

14378 iso techbench

The Windows 10 Insider Preview Contains both Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview and Windows 10 Home Insider Preview.

Due to the fact that the Insider Preview is pre-release software that is released fast for a temporary basis there is no European Commission N Insider Preview or North Korean KN .iso likely as the build will have expired before the bureaucracy allows it to be released to Windows Insiders.

Creating a Bootable USB Flash Drive

With this .iso you may use Rufus to create a bootable USB:

Rufus does not need to be installed and can be run directly by double clicking on the application.

2

Accept the User Account Control Prompt:

3

The order that you use Rufus is important failure to perform the steps in the order listed may lead to an incorrectly created Bootable USB

1. Select the USB Device:

6

2. Load the .iso:

Press the button to load the .iso:

8

Select the .iso and select open:

10

3. Check the Checksums (optional).

Rufus has the option to check the checksums.

12

These should only be used if the .iso is downloaded from an unofficial source.

13

4. Rename the volume label (optional).

I like to include the build number and the architecture in my volume Label.

e.g. I use labels like:

  • Win10_14378_x64
  • Win10N_14378_x64
  • Win10SL_14378_x64
  • Win10_14378_x64_MBR
  • Win10N_14378_x64_MBR
  • Win10SL_14378_x64_MBR

15

5. Select the Partition Scheme and then Target System Type.

The GPT Partition scheme is recommended for a UEFI BIOS and has to be FAT32 formatted in order to pass SecureBoot.

16 win10mbr

6. Click Start

24

Select OK:

26

Wait until Rufus says READY then you can close it an use your Bootable USB.

33

Installation Instructions

Installation of Windows 10 Insider Preview Windows 10 RS1 Beta Build 14366 are identical to the installation instructions of Windows 10 TH2. See Download Windows 10 TH2 .iso for details.

If you are signed in with a Local Account and go to settings:

vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h50m25s032

Then select Updates and Security:

vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h50m35s201

Select Activation.

vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h50m55s936

It should state “Windows is Activated with a Digital License”.

This occurs if and only if the system has been made a Windows 10 Pro Device. In my case it says this with a system that’s used the 10130 Insider Preview Upgrade Path, a Windows 7 OEM system and a Windows 8.1 OEM system.

Getting the Windows 10 RS1 Final Build

You need to be signed in with a Microsoft Account. If you are signed in with one, go to start → settings:

vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h50m25s032

Select Accounts:

vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h52m07s361 Select “Sign in with a Microsoft Account Instead”:

vlcsnap-2016-07-02-19h10m18s152

Enter your email and password and select Sign In:

vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h52m39s579 vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h53m04s543

Input your standard Windows Account password (if you don’t have one, leave it blank) and select next:

vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h53m20s108 vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h53m27s618

You can opt to input a PIN if you want, in my case I don’t want to set one so I will just select “Skip this step”:

vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h53m37s850

Now you will see that the email shows instead of “Local Account”:vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h53m49s366

You can now go to Start → Settings:

vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h54m11s854

Then to “Update and Security”:

vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h54m32s603

Then select Windows Insider Programme:

vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h54m59s426

Change the Insider level from Slow to Fast:

vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h55m54s890 vlcsnap-2016-07-02-18h56m20s998

Then its a case of waiting for the upgrade. When it shows select Install Now:
14393
Then wait for it to install:
14393b
win10393
Select Restart to install the RS1 Build:
win10393b

14390-7 14390-11

Windows 10 RS1 is out for Windows Insiders on the Fast Track.

14395.5a

Note the absence of the watermark and the Windows Edition is now Windows 10 Pro and not Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview.

10 thoughts on “Download Windows 10 RS1 as a Windows Insider

  1. Nice documentations… well written.
    I’m hoping Microsoft will release mediacreationtool.exe for Windows 10.
    Also, it would be helpful if mediacreationtool.exe would create bootable media on flash drives that present themselves as non-removable media.

  2. Very in depth and knowledgeable “How To.” Thank you very much!

    I love my DUAL boot system.
    And I do want to TRY W10 before I install any other system on my Asus 1215N.

    I have been running DUAL Boot for 10 years so far, and always had the choice to “Test Drive” any Linux Distro before any install without vitalization running on a low ram computer..

    So my question is…. do you have a URL for doing the DUAL Boot install for “Testing” out W10? Hopefullly it will be done by you, since you do a great job “How Toing.”

    Thank you very much.

  3. Very in depth and knowledgeable “How To.” Thank you very much!

    I love my DUAL boot system.
    And I do want to TRY W10 before I install any other system on my Asus 1215N.

    I have been running DUAL Boot for 10 years so far, and always had the choice to “Test Drive” any Linux Distro before any install without vitalization running on a low ram computer..

    So my question is…. do you have a URL for doing the DUAL Boot install for “Testing” out W10? Hopefully it will be done by you, since you do a great job “How Toing.”

    Thank you very much.

  4. Very in depth and knowledgeable “How To.” Thank you very much!

    I love my DUAL boot system.
    And I do want to TRY W10 before I install any other system on my Asus 1215N.

    I have been running DUAL Boot for 10 years so far, and always had the choice to “Test Drive” any Linux Distro before any install without vitalization running on a low ram computer..

    So my question is…. do you have a URL for doing the DUAL Boot install for “Testing” out W10? Hopefully it will be done by you, since you do a great job “How Toing.”

    Thank you very much.

    1. Thanks and I’m glad you like my guides in particular.

      Unfortunately I never wrote a guide with a dual-boot nor is it planned as I don’t really like dual boots. I focussed more on virtualisation as a way forward for a number of reasons…

      1. Dual boots can sometimes be a bit tricky and many users attempting to dual boot Windows with Linux end up in a pickle especially with the likes of Recovery Partitions… (particularly problematic with Windows 7 OEM which has no installation .iso). I have seen many cases where users have attempted it and have lost their Windows install entirely. There is also the problem that Windows 7 is already installed on their drive and hence there isn’t the same flexibility regarding partitioning etc. If third party software is used to resize the partitions it usually results in a non-functional recovery partition.

      2. Virtualisation of older OS is more flexible as newer hardware may not have drivers for older OS and security levels in the BIOS e.g. UEFI and SecureBoot don’t need to compromised.

      3. Although the problems of 1. are fixed in Windows 10 as the Windows 10 TH2 installation .isos are readily downloadable. Hardware is becoming much more powerful meaning virtualisation is easier as you can run both OS simultaneously dragging and dropping files between them and it saves the hassle of continuously restarting.

      Personally on low specification hardware if I want to test multiple OS I physically swap out the HDD if I want to do testing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

  • normal
  • normal
  • normal
  • normal
WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

    Share
    Additional Info